First Future of Nursing Scholar to be Inducted to AAN

June 8, 2018 11:55 am

Congratulations to William Rosa, MS, AGPCNP-BC, ACHPN, AHN-BC, CCRN-CMC, a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Future of Nursing Scholar, from the program’s fourth cohort.  This fall, Rosa will be inducted into the American Academy of Nursing as a Fellow.  He will be the first scholar from our program to receive this impressive distinction.

Rosa just completed his first year as a doctoral student at the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing.  His research focuses on the lived experiences of patients confronting advanced serious illness and the capacity of palliative care interventions to alleviate patient-identified suffering. Rosa plans to research the navigation experience of cancer patients in the outpatient setting receiving disease-directed treatment as it relates to their relationships with symptom management, community resources, and other patient-identified priorities.

He earned his BSN from New York University and his MSN from Hunter College. He is a graduate of the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Palliative Care Fellowship.

Rosa has worked as an ICU nurse, clinical and academic educator, global health nurse in Rwanda, East Africa, and currently as a palliative care nurse practitioner. He the editor of two books on leadership and global health, and has authored more than 150 book chapters and articles. He has been recognized with numerous awards, most recently as one of America’s Most Amazing Nurses by The Doctors TV Show and Prevention magazine. Billy has been named one of Modern Healthcare’s 2017 Rising Stars in Nursing and received the 2017 international Daniel J. Pesut Spirit of Renewal Award from Sigma Theta Tau International. Billy serves on the US Advisory Board for the Nightingale Initiative for Global Health, the national Nominating Committee for the American Holistic Nurses Association, the Program Improvement Workgroup for the Society of Critical Care Medicine, and the editorial board for the Journal of Hospice & Palliative Nursing. He is a Fellow of the New York Academy of Medicine, and will be inducted as a Fellow into the American College of Critical Care Medicine (FCCM) in 2018.